Wildflowers

By: Jconnphoto

Aug 10 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Personal

2 Comments

Aperture:f/4.5
Focal Length:32mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/500 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 352, August 9, 2011

I stood in the field, knee deep in wildflowers and grasses, shielding my eyes to the morning sun and peered into the shadows. I was sure I had seen something dart into the woods. A deer? A Dog? I wasn’t sure but it gave me a good reason to get out of the car where the deep gulping breaths I was taking were doing little to quell the tickle in my belly. I stood a little longer inhaling the rich smell of wet earth and watching the sun glint in the rain drops lingering on the floors. A reminder of the peace the rain had brought to my mind the night before. The methodical drip-dropping of the rain as it hit the metal of the air conditioner, pooling up slightly before it dribbled off with a rat-a-tat-tat onto one of the various toys lying in the grass. I rested my hands on my hips and let my mind swirl around and then refocus on what has been lingering there for the past several days.

Change. The fear and excitement of it balled up like several rubber bands. Ready to pull tighter or burst at any second. The biggest change I have made in years sat there in my minds eye. Yesterday I gave my notice at my “day job”. After seven years with the same company and nine in the same career it feels a bit like I’m breaking up with a long term boyfriend. I’m sad to leave behind what I had, the stability and the security of a great employer. Yet like a senior graduating high school I am looking forward to what the next several years will bring. Moving on, knowing that my feet will continue to go one in front of the other taking steps towards fullfulling my dreams.

2 comments on “Wildflowers”

  1. Yes, lots of change… Giving up you job, your blog, and maybe other things. Are you going to become a fulltime photographer? All of us who have followed your interesting and inspiring blog will miss you as will all the poeple who work with you, I’m sure.

  2. Best of luck in the future! Dreams are nourishment to the soul.


Leave a Reply

