Rifles

By: Jconnphoto

Jul 28 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: History

2 Comments

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:105mm
ISO:1250
Shutter:1/12 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 340, July 28, 2011

The last couple days I’ve been feeling uninspired by my usual downtown walks. I also needed to take some time to give my mind some freedom to think and I do this best while walking. I decided to hoof it a bit further today and walk up to the Springfield Armory. I have only been in the museum once before and barely remember it. It seems that I would have been there more often given that my Grandmother worked there in the administrative offices during WWII. So today as I walked around and browsed some of the photos I found myself looking for her face in the pictures. I didn’t find her but asked a staff member about archives and she confirmed that there are employee records and photos from that time and they are housed in a room above the museum. She mentioned that I might ask for permission to browse the archives myself and I was thrilled. I don’t know when they’ll let me do this but it would be insanely exciting if I could find bits and pieces of my Grandmother’s past.

These rifles are one of the most popular displays in the armory and I can see why. They are lined up in perfect order and serve as a reminder of the important role the armory played in the manufacturing of wartime weapons for nearly two centuries. Yes, I said two centuries. That’s how we roll here.

2 comments on “Rifles”

  1. I really like the composition of this photo. Let us know if and when you find something about your grandmother in the archives…sounds like a rewarding project!

  2. Great shot! Nice composition, repetition, and depth of field.


Leave a Reply

