Art Glass

By: Jconnphoto

Jul 21 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Macro

1 Comment

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:100mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/2 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 331, July 19, 2011

A friend of mine once told me that I would be a good lawyer. Not because I’m one who necessarily upholds the law, but because I can argue both sides of an issue. Usually. So when a friend of mine told me about Josh Simpsons Infinity Project which involves leaving a blown glass ball about the size of a golf ball in some secret place [click the name of the project for more information] I was pretty much obligated to pester him with my thoughts.

1. The rule of natural exploration is to leave nothing but your footprints and take nothing but your memories. Surely bears, eagles, and little fishies that swim in coral reefs could care less about a piece of art glass?

2. Hello!!?!?! There are LARGE fines for littering in national parks!  Jeez!

3. Let’s not even argue the consequences if some nearly extinct animal, the  white-headed langur for example, should get ahold of one of these and have it become lodged in it’s throat. Last I checked they didn’t offer CPR classes to primates!

Oh wait til you here this one,

4. Occasionally someone will drop one of these little spheres out the window. Of. A. Plane. What the what!?! Can you say velocity, oh yeah!!!

Ok, in all seriousness I absolutely adore Josh’s work. My coworkers/friend collects his work and keeps a few on his desk.  For the past 7 years I have worked with him I’ve always grabbed one of his globes off his desk and often held it, passing it back and forth between my hands while we chatted about all manner of work related topics, and some personal.

I think the Infinity project is pretty darn cool. As kids my brother and I used to scour the woods behind my grandmother’s house hoping to find bullets from the Civil War (she didn’t have the heart to tell us that war wasn’t fought in East Longmeadow, MA) so if I were me in 200 years and I came across this glass ball covered in 200 years of muck and grime only to find this intricate detail inside once I cleaned it, well, I’d be pretty friggin’ stoked.

Hey, who knows, maybe Josh will choose to bestow upon me the task of littering hiding one of these spheres in the hopes of having it discovered in a couple of centuries.

One comment on “Art Glass”

  1. […] Simpson (click the name to link to his website) globe my coworker loaned me for some macro shots (click here) to see the macro post. I waited until it got dark then I lit up. The sparklers people!!  A little […]


Leave a Reply

