Weddings

By: Jconnphoto

Jul 17 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: Black & White, Wedding

3 Comments

Aperture:f/3.2
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/8000 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 328, July 16, 2011

I love shooting weddings. I remember a couple years ago someone asked me if I would photograph their wedding and I flat out said no. I couldn’t imagine that pressure. What if I messed up? You only have one chance to get things right on a wedding day. But then I finally photographed a wedding to help a friend out. Her photographer backed out of the wedding two weeks before the date. Why is not my business…. bottom line was that a friend needed help and I had a camera, a decent lens, and enough knowledge to get me started. After the day was done and I was making the 2.5 hour drive back from Cape Cod, MA (I was a really good friend to go all that way huh!?) I realized how much fun I had had. And how little pressure I felt. It was like when the camera was up to my eye I was in a different mode. Focus, click. Focus, click. Focus, click. From there a wedding photog was born.

I had the pleasure this past Saturday of photographing a wedding for another friend. This time, not because she was in a pinch, but because she wanted me to be the photographer. As usual I had a wonderful time and can’t wait to get into the pictures, sort them out and start sharing. For now I’m posting one of my favorites from the day.

It is such a simple image. Just hands. But I love how the way they are holding hands conveys the comfort with what they are doing. They aren’t gripping each others hands as if  holding on for dear life. Nor are they keeping their distance as if to maintain independence. They are just lightly touching. Gently reminding each other that they are there for love and for each other. Enough pressure to be supportive but enough give to let the other person be who they are. Yes, I got all of that out of one single image.

 

3 comments on “Weddings”

  1. what a beautiful image. definitely a lasting capture.

  2. Lovely Picture,,, Romantic…!!!


Leave a Reply

