Little Italy

By: Jconnphoto

Jul 14 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Random

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:24mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

 

Photo blog day 326, July 14, 2011

I went to the South End of Springfield, MA today and walked around the Italian neighborhood. I was actually on my way to Starbucks and never made it. I was sort of just walking around the streets checking out the tornado damage and seeing what is being rebuilt or demolished. I walked down Williams St and looked up and saw the Frigo’s sign. There used to be another Frigo’s on Main Street until about 2 years ago and I was a fairly regular customer. Once they closed that deli and kept their original shop open on Williams St it was just a little too far to go for lunch. So over the course of the last 2 years I have sort of forgotten about this place. Until today. In the combined 10+ years that I have worked downtown I had never been to the original Frigo’s, the authentic Italian deli that serves some of the most delicious food I have ever had. I lucked out because there was a seat available out front so I stepped inside, ordered up a “Carnivore” and home-made potato chips with a bottle of root beer. Heaven. Pure and true. I wish I could share some with you but I devoured that sandwich like it was my last meal. Or like I was a T-Rex, whichever.

I posted this shot today because while I was there I didn’t feel like I was in Springfield at all. The street was so quiet save for some pedestrians, the sky was so blue, and the flowers so colorful you could have easily convinced me I was in the Lake regions of Italy.

Buona Sera!

Leave a Reply

