4th of July

By: Jconnphoto

Jul 07 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Night, Season

1 Comment

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:24mm
ISO:5000
Shutter:1/80 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 318, July 4, 2011

Happy Belated 4th of July!!  I mentioned a couple days ago that I am on vacation in South Carolina and that my posts would be sporadic, so here’s one a couple days late!

I live in MA and grew up there. If anyone knows anything about MA they’d know that pretty much everything fun is illegal. Ok, that might be extreme… but there are a lot of things that are illegal in our state that aren’t in others. for example, fireworks. In MA you can’t even get sparklers.  I mean really? Sparklers? Nope, it’s considered a firework. Ohhhkay…

So, for a Massachusetts native watching the 4th of July fireworks in South Carolina is quite an experience. Only once before have I been here on the holiday and actually braved going to the beach to watch the display. That time I spent the majority of the time huddled behind a dune with my arms over my head hollering “man down! shots fired!”

Some people may be wondering what I mean.. what I mean is that in SC, and many other states anyone can launch fireworks. If you are from these states please don’t be insulted by what I’m about to say.

My Dad, who lives in NC but grew up in MA, asked what my plans were for the 4th and I told him.. “well, I think we’re going to watch the Redneck Fireworks” He laughed out loud, knowing exactly what I meant. When you let the general public purchase fireworks and then allow them to launch them in a public place such as the beach… well let’s just say things can get a little hairy. [Public Relations note: I don’t mean any insult by the phrase Redneck. I’m quite fond of Rednecks. Jeff Foxworthy is one of my favorite comedians and I think Rednecks know how to have a good time, more so than us MA natives. :)]

So as we meandered down to the beach and set up our chairs I wasn’t quite sure how it would go. I was pleasantly surprised that, while it didn’t seem exactly safe, those who had fireworks to set off had taken many precautions to ensure the safety of those around them and allow everyone to have a good time and enjoy the scene.

Sadly, in my haste to be on vacation I forgot to bring a tripod. But, never fear, the 5d Mark II didn’t need a tripod. A high ISO and a decent shutter speed allowed me to capture a few great shots before I finally put the camera away and enjoyed the evening.

 

One comment on “4th of July”

  1. Glad you got to see fireworks!


Leave a Reply

