Happy Birthday Phoebe

By: Jconnphoto

Jun 22 2011

Category: Personal

1 Comment

Aperture:f/1.8
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/80 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 307, June 21, 2011

My Darling Daughter,

Today you turn two. Last week, you stopped calling me mama and started calling me mommy. The sweet tone of your voice as you lifted your handed, index finger pointed at my face, and said firmly “Mommy”. That was all. You didn’t want anything, just for me to know you knew exactly who I was. Then you turned and scurried down the hall laughing.

To my astonishment you’ve changed from baby to toddler overnight. When only days ago you were happy to be toted in my arms, now you insist on “down” and once there, you slide your tiny hand into mine and look up at me, grinning. As if to say, “It’s ok mommy, I’m still here.”  When my hand folds around yours I feel our connection. I feel that you know you are secure and loved. As a mom, that is a triumphant accomplishment.

And now you sit next to me as I type. Content to just be near me. You scribble on the dry erase board I set in front of you, giggling when you accidentally scribble on the table and look to my face to see my reaction. Then you crawl across the chair into my lap and lay your head on my shoulder for just a second longer than usual and that connection is there again. Ours to keep. Ours forever.

Happy Birthday Phoebe,

Love Mom

One comment on “Happy Birthday Phoebe”

  1. Happy birthday Phoebe!!


Leave a Reply

