Father’s Day

By: Jconnphoto

Jun 19 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Personal

3 Comments

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:40mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/100 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day 305, June 19, 2011

Warning, personal post alert! I know, another one?! Get ready because this week will be full of them. Mom’s birthday, Father’s Day, then my daughter’s 2nd birthday and subsequent party. Oh well, it’s life right?

Today is Father’s Day (duhhhh) and I’m a horrible wife. Yes, I’ll admit it. I take after my dad in so many ways I can’t count (my mom too for that matter) but one thing I inherited that I wish I could change is that I always seem to be a day late and a dollar short. Those are my dad’s words and I find myself using them all the time. So why does this matter today and why am I a bad wife? Well, Father’s Day snuck up on me so fast I didn’t have time to get my father, my father in-law, or my husband cards!? The guilt, compliments of the Hallmark greeting card institution, ate at me all day yesterday. I thought maybe I could find some time to make a card for my husband. Nahh… So I decided to try to start the day off right by making breakfast. This isn’t exactly a rarity in my house, but it’s not super common for me to pop out of bed on a weekend morning and happily crack eggs a-la-June Cleaver. No, weekend breakfast is usually my husband’s job. Ok… daily breakfast is usually my husband’s job for that matter. Which leads me to the personal part of the post.

Just for you my dear husband. I thank you for everything you are. For being the solid person in our relationship and for being the Universe to our kids. I thank you for never complaining (well mostly) when there is a job to do and never expecting me to fall into any particular role as a mother or wife. I thank you for the loving way you have moved into your role as father and for the enthusiasm you put into caring for our kids. You have proved to be so much more the father you I thought you would be. If you want to see the top 10 reasons I love you check out this old post [click here].

And to my dad, I’m sorry I didn’t get you a card this year.  But…. thank you for teaching me to stand on my own two feet and to stick to my guns. Thank you for never being disappointed in me when I made poor decisions (a tattoo at 16 years old!!?!?!) or when I refused to ask for help when I needed it (no map and driving to Niagra Falls?! Good luck!). Thank you for being there any time day or night to help when I had car trouble. Thank you for teaching me how to change a flat tire, oil, and numerous other mechanical-type things that cars need.  And most of all, Thank you for introducing me to COFFEE!!!

Happy Father’s Day.

3 comments on “Father’s Day”

  1. Why not personal? You do it really well! I loved your post today as well as the great photo of your husband and children.

  2. Sweet, sweet, sweet. Happy (belated) Father’s Day!

  3. jess, you were 17 and leaving the country as an adult.


Leave a Reply

