Lightening

By: Jconnphoto

Jun 09 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Night

2 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:24mm
ISO:800
Shutter:5 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 295, June 9, 2011

Once again Mother Nature shows her terrific power. She set out to display a light show last night that would play behind your eyelids for hours after you closed them. I have never been successful shooting Lightening because I usually try to “chase” it with my camera and press the shutter just at the right moment. I read something recently about shooting fireworks in the pitch black. The idea is to set the camera to bulb and a moderate ISO, maybe around 400.

So, I set my camera on the window sill behind my couch (I left the screen shut and held onto the camera strap just in case. so please disregard the grid effect in the image) and I started trying different settings. There was tons of cloud to cloud lightening and every few minutes it would shoot downwards. This was actually one of the first pictures I took and although the burst in the center is tragically overexposed I think it lends to how powerful lightening is.

2 comments on “Lightening”

  1. Nice timing on the lightning. I’ve always wanted to get a lightning shot, but I’ve never had the right timing. In fact, tomorrow night, we’re supposed to have thunderstorms. I’ve been planning to go out if the forecast comes through. BTW, my favourite way to shoot fireworks is handheld with long exposure times – up to four seconds. I don’t get too concerned with movement because the fireworks are moving anyway. Plus, when I include the crowds, it gives the whole thing a much greater sense of energy. Now I can’t get enough of fireworks shows!

    • I LOVE doing fireworks too but I can’t usually do the bulb thing because there is too much other ambient light around me. 4th of July coming up soon!


Leave a Reply

