Twirling Irises

By: Jconnphoto

May 29 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Creative, Flowers, Nature

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/16
Focal Length:24mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/10 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 289, May 29, 2011

“It’s easy” she said, “you just do it like this” she demonstrated with a twist of her hand and a flick of her wrist.

[yeah, I thought, full of self doubt.. it’s that easy]. “wow” I replied. “Guess I’ll have to try it!”

And like that a photo club friend taught me a new technique. In camera abstract art. Trust me, if it can be done in-camera this woman will do it.

Since it’s a holiday weekend and while things aren’t exactly low-key on the home front, photography certainly hasn’t taken priority over household chores. Winter clothes are getting packed away, summer clothes out, gardens planted… ok, let’s be honest: 2 strawberry plants and a tomato topsy turvy got planted but hey, that’s pretty good for a city girl!

Despite our never ending To-Do list I woke this morning knowing what my post would be today. I knew I wanted to try Barb’s circular panning effect on some more Irises in the yard. I also gave the “Monet” thing a shot but that needs more practice. The circular panning thing was NOT as easy my friend made it sound, at least not for me, but luckily with digital we keep trying until we have it. A few adjustments with settings and I got the exposure right, then it was just a matter of the twist-flick of the wrist.

Leave a Reply

