City Hall

By: Jconnphoto

May 26 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Architecture, HDR, Random

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:24mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/640 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 286, May 26, 2011

What makes a city? The buildings? The street names? The location? When I was a child taking catechism classes I was taught that buildings and places don’t make a church, people do. So isn’t it the same for a city? It’s the people that breathe life into a city, that give a city its history and its reputation. A City does not a person make, rather, the people a city make.

I heard recently that the City of Springfield, MA has been listed as the 12th most dangerous city in the U.S.

[pause for effect]

I haven’t had the heart to verify this because it simply disgusts me. And angers me. And frustrates me. Worst of all, it’s humiliating.

Finally today I read the article that hails Springfield as a place of dangerous crimes [click here for the article].

Hearing this “danger” level brings to mind dark images of pre-Batman Gotham. Or a post-apocalyptic world such as that portrayed in The Road. Were I not from Springfield hearing this might make me run for the hills. I mean seriously, how is there even a tourist economy in this part of the state? If you were planning a vacation and were looking at Western, MA as your destination would you not immediately change your mind hearing how dangerous it is here?

Of course, given any type of rating system someone has to be the best and someone has to be the worst because let’s face it; The U.S. is not utopia. Crime exists. And has existed since more than one man and one woman were put on this planet. It is simply human nature to want the most/best for oneself and ones family. But does it have to come down to crime? Murder? Assault? Theft? What is happening to us?

When I walk around the city I now feel danger lurking in every shadow, every alley contains a hunter searching for prey.

Yet I look out my window and see a beautiful city. New meshed with old. I see people enjoying the sunshine. I see children laughing and playing in the park.

I hope something changes and the City of Springfield can change its reputation and people can feel safe coming here again because they are missing out on some wonderful attractions and history of the US. This doesn’t look like pre-Batman Gotham to me.

Leave a Reply

