Hartford CT – Capitol Building

By: Jconnphoto

May 15 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: Architecture, Creative, HDR

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:105mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 274, May 14, 2011

I  have to admit. I didn’t think I was going to like today’s picture. We went to West Hartford for dinner at Cheesecake Factory. I had planned on taking an image as we drove through a lit tunnel. The plan was to have an image that conveyed motion with streaming tail lights. Well, I didn’ t get it. Instead, I got a nice sharp image of the car in front of us. I had underestimate the amount of light in the tunnel. At 65 MPH I didn’t have a chance to change the settings. And with our almost-two year old screaming her head off in the back seat I didn’t think it was such a great idea to double back and try it again. So instead I grabbed this shot of the Hartford Capitol Building. It was a stunning piece of architecture and every time  I travel through Hartford I look for the gold dome. A beacon letting travelers know they have arrived. I added an HDR preset to the image in Lightroom because… Well… just because. In fact, I’m enjoying the HDR-look so much I’m am going to attempt to learn a little more about it.

Leave a Reply

