Saying Goodbye

By: Jconnphoto

Apr 26 2011

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Kids, Personal

2 Comments

Aperture:f/3.5
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/500 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 255, April 26, 2011

“It’s time honey”

“I know, I’m just surprised it came so quick.”

You have to do this sooner or later, they’re not babies anymore.””

“I can’t believe we’re going to actually get rid of this stuff, I feel like it’s part of the decor now”

“Just do it. It’ll be fine”

This is the conversation that replayed itself in my head as I maneuvered our truck through back country roads, slowly making my way towards Once Upon a Child, a store that buys and sells used kids items.

A part of my heart was traveling in the back of the truck. Bouncing along in the activity center that had happily contained both my children whilst entertaining them with its brilliant colors and endless songs. The “johnny jumper” that allowed my babies to strengthen their legs and shriek with delight  when their toes left the floor and their hair swooped up in the air on the way down.

A piece of my heart was certainly held by the Bumbo seat that held my kids bums snug when I fed them their first bites of real food. The bouncy seat where my son slept by our bedside for two weeks when he was only two weeks old and refused to sleep any other way.

To my husband these items are just things we used for convenience to help us stay sane while the kids were infants. To me they’re so much more than that. They’re memories. I can still hear my son’s giggle when he would slide these circus kids back and forth on their “tight rope.”

But he’s right. It is time. Our house needs some breathing room. Out with the old, in with the new.

2 comments on “Saying Goodbye”

  1. A new adventure begins : )

  2. […] Saying Goodbye (jconnphoto.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

