Miniature Springfield

By: Jconnphoto

Apr 20 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Creative

2 Comments

Aperture:f/9
Focal Length:24mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/50 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 250, April 20, 2011

On a dreary day such as today I am often at a loss for something to inspire me. There are tons of things to take pictures of but I prefer to be inspired.  I recently came across some images taken with a tilt shift lens. I recalled seeing a post on another 365 blog [click here] and my jaw dropped at the intensity of the photo. The maker of the image described that you can “fake” tilt shift photography. After a little clickety-clicking on the internet I found some how-to’s and I decided to give it a try on my own. It doesn’t compare to some others that I’ve seen but I certainly learned something new today!

This image of Springfield’s Court Square was taken from my office window after I shooed the pigeons away from the ledge.

2 comments on “Miniature Springfield”

  1. Nice job. I wonder if you’d be even happier with your shot if you used your history brush to bring the steeple(?)/bell tower(?) on the white building back into focus. Just a thought.
    I’ve done this on a few of my own photos too and think the technique is pretty sweet. What’s great is how easy it is to do! Still not sure why everything looks miniaturized though.

  2. Looks like a toy scene. Love it. Agree about the bell tower. Looks like it should be in focus, given the range of focus. Way cool, though.


Leave a Reply

