Staircase

By: Jconnphoto

Apr 06 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Architecture

3 Comments

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:24mm
ISO:1250
Shutter:1/640 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 236, April 6, 2011

I see light. Not in a weird way but just in the way an painter may notice different tones of a color, or a typographer sees font. I try to notice shadows and light, always looking for pretty light. Today I went for a walk at lunchtime canvasing the Italian neighborhood for an image that could relate how I feel about a certain book I’m reading. I’m still looking for that image but in the meantime I was stopped in my tracks by the play of light on this marble staircase in a stunning lobby of a building on State Street in Springfield, MA. I always thought these buildings were locked or accessible only by tenants. As I ended my walking today, uninspired by the Italian neighborhood, I decided to check a couple doors. Lo and behold I walked right in. Uncertain what I would find I tried to look like I knew what I was doing. I took a few steps down a marble hall and gasped when I saw this. The flow of light streaming down the stairs like the flow of a spring stream, tumbling over the rocks and pooling at the base. Beautiful. And don’t even get me started on the lines, the contrast of the elegantly curved stairs and the sharp straight lines of the light on the wall.

3 comments on “Staircase”

  1. Stunning!


Leave a Reply

