Frog

By: Jconnphoto

Apr 03 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Nature, Season

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:500
Shutter:1/1000 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 233, April 3, 2011

Ok, I admit, I don’t know the difference between a toad and a frog. I just call them all frogs. Today, in stark contrast to Friday’s crazy April Fool’s snowstorm, was a perfectly seasonable spring day. Warm sunshine and crisp breezes, just enough of both to remind us how delicate this season is. I went out on our country road for a walk with my daughter hoping to find some buds ready to burst. We’re not quite there yet. But my daughter was lulled to sleep by the swaying of the carriage and the warm sun on her face. When we got home I didn’t have the heart to wake her, since she has been sleeping so fitfully at night with her latest cold. So I dragged a patio chair out to the driveway and just sat in the sun with her. With my eyes closed I lifted my face to the sun and pretty soon started to doze off myself. But something sounded different than yesterday. A sound I hadn’t heard since last year. A little investigation confirmed that the frogs are back. The sort strangled croak of young frogs mixed with the chirping of the birds. With a grin on my face I threw on my rain boots and ran out to the water logged farm field across the road from my drive way. This time of year the pond overfills and floods the center part of the field and this was where the frogs were. I approached slowly and I could see them leaping and diving into the water. Croak, Croak. I got a little too close and whoop! They all dived into the water except for this one who dared me to come further. I got one shot before he decided he didn’t want to play chicken this early in the season.

Leave a Reply

