Tufted Titmouse

By: Jconnphoto

Apr 01 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Animals, Nature, Personal, Random, Season

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4.5
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/800 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

First of all, I cannot even believe I know what the name of this bird is. Or at least I was pretty sure and once I googled it gave myself a big pat on the back. But that’s not the story of this post. The story of this post is how I cannot friggin’ believe it snowed on April 1st. I shouldn’t be surprised. This year has not been forgiving at all. So today, in effort to kick this winter in the derrier I decided I would take one final “winter” shot and pray it is the last one until December. At least.

This winter is going in my history books. It’s going down as the winter of 2011 when I had to walk to school, in the blizzard, up hill both ways, shoeless. Oh wait, that wasn’t my generation. Ok, generation X back at the helm. This will be the winter that we had to go without internet when the power went out and rely on the battery power of our laptops to entertain the children. This winter will the the one I talk about when I’m 90 and tell my grandchildren how genius their grandparents were when we decided to light a fire in a fireplace with a chimney packed with snow, and use a fire log. Oh yeah, we smoked ourselves out of the house and gave our kids PTSD from the smoke alarms screaming FIRE! FIRE! And the fire was to be cozy, not because our heat was out. This will be the winter we remember that we ordered delivery because we didn’t want to drive in the snow. And by the way, the pizza delivery people now own the “Not wind, nor rain, nor snow…” phrase because the post office? They didn’t deliver the mail. For a week. Really USPS? Really?  This winter was the one I tried not to hate. I tried really hard. No seriously, I was good until about the end of January when Mother Nature decided to rob us of our annual “January thaw” and then play a fiendish April Fools joke on all of us unsuspecting Yanks. Who would do such a thing? This winter broke snowfall records in a single month and record cold temperatures. And this was the winter that finally convinced me, when given the chance,  I will move to a warmer climate without a second thought.

Ok, that’s the end of my rant. Happy Friday!!!

Photo blog day 231, April 1, 2011

 

 

Leave a Reply

