US Mail

By: Jconnphoto

Mar 09 2011

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Architecture

1 Comment

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:73mm
ISO:6400
Shutter:1/8 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 208, March 9, 2011

Sometimes I stumble upon things that I am sure I have seen a million times before but was never really “seeing” them. I was at City Hall today in Springfield, MA paying excise taxes [don’t even get me started on those] and as I walked around the old building I came across this Cutler Mail Chute tucked neatly into a wall with its glass chute stretching upwards through the ceiling. I love City Hall for its history and I especially love walking around this old building. I used to walk around and look at the overall grandeur of the craftsmanship. Now I am training my eye to take in the details of each and every crevice.

The chute, installed in the early 1900’s, is no longer in service, of course put to rest by the more traditional mail room and now the increasing use of electronic communication. But it remains in its place in the building. Staunch and steadfast in its loyalty to get the mail from top to bottom. Waiting. Anticipating the day when a freshly inked paper will whisper past is glass and land as gently as a fallen leaf at its base to be taken to its recipient. A reminder of different times. I won’t say simpler because I don’t believe that to be true. I think all ‘times’ have varying challenges. But it is a reminder of how people will never stop inventing things with the hope that ingenuity will make things easier. Imagine telling James Cutler that less than 100 years after his invention the paper mail that once streamed through his chutes is becoming more and more obsolete? Imagine telling him that with a few wires and the click of a button a person on a different continent would receive a message nearly instantaneously. Imagine?  And that’s what got us where we are and where we’re going. Imagination.

P.S. Did you see the ISO on this image. sixty-four-friggin’-hundred!!!?  What the what?! Yes, I took this shot in a VERY dark hallway with zero natural light reflectors. I cranked that Marky-Mark 5d2 up and baby? It performed! You go Canon!

One comment on “US Mail”

  1. […] About Black Capped Chickadee US Mail […]


Leave a Reply

