Lady Slipper

By: Jconnphoto

Mar 04 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: Nature

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:300mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day 203, March 4, 2011

My dog ate my camera. I couldn’t find my camera. I accidentally divided by zero and my brain exploded. I have photographer’s block. I took pictures but hated them. I ran out of film. I accidentally locked the camera in my car and had to wait for AAA to come get it out. My camera ran away from home. My great Aunt Verna is allergic to digital cameras and I had to visit her today. I forgot.

There you have it. My top 10 excuses for why I don’t have a new image to post today.

The truth is my daughter was a little under the weather last night so to help her nip whatever she has in the bud we spent the day at home, entertaining and being a good mommy. We played hide and seek, we did laundry, we made Nutella cookies, we relaxed, we watched movies. But we didn’t leave the house. And that folks, presents a challenge when it comes to taking pictures. Sure, sure I could have done a project, maybe more colored water, or reflections in droplets. I could have thought of something but I didn’t. Instead I used my “break”, that precious hour when both children are napping to do something I never EVER do. Take a nap myself. I cozied up on the dining room floor [yes I realize that sounds weird] on my sons bean-bag in the warm patch of sunlight that always hits that spot from 12-2. I laid in the sun and let it warm my face and I slowly dozed off. Before I knew it the kids were awake and I was back to clowning around.

So I am bringing you an image from deep in the archives. June 2009, two weeks before my daughter was born, I trudged around Sky Meadows with my photo club in search of nature at its finest. This was the last Lady Slipper of the season and I had never seen one before, nor have I seen one since. I caught it in the early morning light so that it appears to be glowing. One of my favorite images ever.

Leave a Reply

