A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

By: Jconnphoto

Feb 27 2011

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:24mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/800 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day 198, February 27, 2011

I read in Sepia. And Technicolor. And black and white.

Huh?  Ok, to clarify, I just finished reading “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” and can’t stop thinking about it. There have been a number of books I have read that I have so immersed that when my eyes move from the page to the scene around me I see the color that pictures would have been in that particular era. The Grapes of Wrath was another sepia book. For as long as I can remember when I read a book I picture the colors and tones as they would have been presented were they pictures. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn starts out in the early 1900’s. Hence the sepia tone. Last year I read The Help and that was read in technicolor. To Kill a Mockingbird was in black and white, at least for me.

Everywhere I look I see Franny Nolan. In sepia. I see her on the fire-escapes in the city. I see her in the mills that no longer pulse with life. I see her on the cobblestone sidewalks, a faded remnant of Springfield’s past. I know this book takes place in Brooklyn but I feel like it embodies every city in the US that thrived on industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. I could read this book over and over again and never get bored. I’m sad that it took me this long to discover it! If anyone has any reading suggestions let me know! I’m always looking for a good read.

Leave a Reply

