Screech Owl

By: Jconnphoto

Feb 24 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Animals, Nature

1 Comment

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Photo blog day 195, February 24, 2011

Part Two of Hi-Jinx.

This is the little bugger who wakes me up at 3 AM in a complete state of terror thinking a beast is coming through my backyard. Never in my life would I have thought I would have to sleep with ear plugs during the summer in the country but there you have it. The country is louder than the sirens of the city. My first summer living here a screech owl was on the hunt in the woods behind my house. Oh. My. Gosh. I couldn’t sleep for days, the echo of that screech continually pulsed through my head at odd times during the day and gave me goose bumps. When the “Bird Lady” said she was bringing out a Screech Owl I thought she would bust out a 25 lb massive raptor. When she pulled this bird out and I saw that it could fit in my coffee mug I wasn’t as terrified. Still, those things that go bump in the night will always freak me out.

And for the record. I would never. NEVER. Try to pass any of these images off as an image taken in nature [even though I used Nature as a tag here it’s only for search purposes]. I have heard there are people who would, I am not one. Just sayin’.

One comment on “Screech Owl”

  1. SUPERB!


Leave a Reply

