Stained Glass

By: Jconnphoto

Feb 22 2011

Tags: , , ,

Category: Personal, Random

5 Comments

Aperture:f/14
Focal Length:40mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/100 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

 

Photo blog day 193, February 22, 2011

 

[sigh]. I look over at my son, his eyes are closed and he has a slight smile on his face. His eyelids flutter open, squinting in the patch of sunlight we are laying in on the dining room floor.

[sigh]. “mom?”

“mmm?” my eyes are closed now and there are spots of sunlight dancing behind my eyelids. “what holds the sky up?”

“air”.

“no, mom, it’s the clouds.” I open my eyes and peer up at the deep blue sky. Not a cloud in sight.

[sigh]

“mom?”

“mmm?”

” When I’m 25 will I be a man?”

“Yes”

[sigh]

“mom?”

“mmm?”

“When will it be summer again?”

“when all the snow melts.”

[sigh]

“mom?”

“mmm?”

“I love you”

I open my eyes again, the sun is streaming through the stained glass Valentine Heart my son made at preschool. I look over and his eyes are still closed, he reaches for my hand and repeats “I love you”.

I never want to forget these simple moments. When he’s 25, and a man, I will remind him that he used to think the clouds held up the sky. And that he loves me.

 

5 comments on “Stained Glass”

  1. Aww I really loved this post. And the vibrant picture that goes along with this post really ties in with your story. Very nice post.

  2. jess, you made me cry.

  3. so sweet! I love it.

  4. Huge “sigh”…. I am new to your blog and this post is one of my favorites thus far. As a mama of a 14 year old boy, I could hear my own son’s sweet questions and feel his searching hand as if it were this morning. Enjoy EVERY moment! Thanks for the memories….


Leave a Reply

