Moonlit Fields

By: Jconnphoto

Feb 19 2011

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Night, Personal

4 Comments

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:28mm
ISO:12800
Shutter:1/5 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

 

Photo blog day 189, February 18, 2011

Have you ever been out on a winter night during a full or nearly full moon and just felt the mystery of the world meet up with a sense of peace? Last night we had a somewhat rare occurrence for February. During the day the temperatures topped out in the high 50’s and as the temperatures cooled it became a little foggy. We were then blessed with thunder and lightening, a treat for those of us who still feel that summer is a long way off. I bought a new camera yesterday and was testing it out late last night. After the rain stopped I went outside to see how far I could really push the ISO capabilities of my new Canon 5D Mark II (more on the camera purchase in another post, I’m still in sticker shock). I pushed the ISO to H1, it’s 2nd highest ISO capacity of 12,800. Coming from the Canon 40D whose highest is ISO 1600 with expansion to 3200 (which I NEVER used because, jeez, can you say grain?). I needed to be convinced that it was possible to shoot at an ISO that high and not feel like the image was buried in 3″ of sand/grain. So off I went to my favorite spot. Facing away from the moon I set the camera to a slow shutter speed 1/6 of a second. I attempted to focus on the tree in the distance (even with a nearly full moon it’s hard for the naked eye to see that far). I took a few shots and headed back inside. I truly could not believe I had captured anything usable. Alas, I was proven wrong!  This image, touched up with some noise reduction in LR3, captured exactly that mystery and peace I feel when I’m outside at night. I am thrilled beyond belief with this new camera and can’t wait to see what else it can do.

 

 

4 comments on “Moonlit Fields”

  1. awsome

  2. Wow – looks like a gorgeous painting!

  3. This totally looks like a painting. Weird….was that the setting?

    • It is mostly the atmosphere, there was a lot of moisture in the air that made the image look smooth. Then it was bumped a bit when I smoothed it out more in Lightroom.


Leave a Reply

