The Birds

By: Jconnphoto

Feb 07 2011

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Animals, Random

1 Comment

Aperture:f/3.5
Focal Length:53mm
ISO:320
Shutter:1/100 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day 178, February 7, 2011

I know I seem to be complaining about the snow quite a bit lately, but really, this is for the birds. After a two hour commute home on Friday that should have taken no more than 45 minutes I was already grumbling by  3PM in anticipation of todays ride. On Friday a combination of pedestrians, potholes, and parked cars prohibited my progress. There is so much snow here that our normally wide two lane streets are narrowed down to barely a single lane. Sidewalks remain uncleared forcing people to walk in the streets. Drivers ignore the parking bans and shove their way as far as they can on the side of the street to get a spot in front of their tenement. Buses cannot pass trucks and SUV drivers barrel through thinking they own the road. A coworker was driving behind such an SUV and watched two of them play “chicken” neither moved over and they wound up sandwiched between two snow banks, tipped against each other like Bubba and Forrest in the jungles of Vietnam.  The tow truck driver who came to pull them apart just laughed and said “this one is for the books.”

On my way home today I took one side street after another trying to zigzag my way out of the city and avoid the now single lanes of traffic. I finally made it to the home stretch and was stopped at an intersection. I leaned my already pounding head against the headrest and looked up. I saw this flock of pigeons perched on the wires and thought “Boy they must be getting quite a kick out of watching us rats trying to win this race”. I no sooner snapped a picture than the light turned green. I have no idea why the birds chose this particular pole to perch and crowd together over a busy intersection but I’m happy they did because the rest of my ride was spent chuckling over the birds thinking us humans as foolish.

One comment on “The Birds”

  1. I like the look of the birds and wires against the overcast sky. Good picture! And I LOVED the way you wrote about commuting in the snow. I could see it all in my mind perfectly. Your words painted the second picture of the day.


Leave a Reply

