Wedding Lace

By: Jconnphoto

Jan 31 2011

Tags: , , ,

Category: Black & White, Creative, Personal, Uncategorized, Wedding

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:70mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day 170, January 30, 2011

I have had weddings on the brain like crazy lately.  Mostly because I am building my new website but I suspect it’s also because spring is coming.  Or at least I’m willing it to with all my might. And the wedding season starts mid-spring here. I mentioned in this previous post (click here) that I am absent detail wedding photos from my own wedding.  So as I looked out at the endless snow scape I decided to take another of my own detail wedding photos and add it to my album. My dress has a story. I went dress shopping with an entourage of people. My entire wedding party, my mom and my future mother in-law. They were all extremely helpful but try making a decision as big as what dress to buy with 7 people’s opinions. At the end of the day I bought a dress that I thought suited me. It was simple no fuss or muss. A small embroidery detail of daisies around the bodice. I brought it home and hung it in the closet. But the whole time I was thinking that I hadn’t made the right decision. I didn’t feel special in the dress. To be honest it looked like a white prom dress and that wasn’t me. As I planned my wedding it weighed on me more and more. Finally I brought the dress back to the store who had a no return policy. I explained how I felt to the manager and she agreed that if I purchased another dress of at least $25 greater value she would return the Daisy dress. It wasn’t like I had a sob story or anything but I cried out of relief. I shopped on my own and wound up finding the perfect dress. Elegant and beautiful with a train of delicate flowers that reminded me of edelweiss, a flower that grows in the Bavarian Alps where I spent 6 months as an au-pair after I graduated highschool. I kept the dress a secret until it was time for my husband to rent his tux. I had to tell him that I bought a white dress because the Daisy dress was creme and he wanted his cumberbun to match the dress. When I put that dress on on my Wedding Day I felt like Cinderella. I still look at my wedding pictures and feel like a princess when I think of how it felt to wear that dress. I pulled it out of its bag today and took a shot of the lace, to remind me how I felt that day, and still feel nearly 9 years later.

Leave a Reply

