Paris


Photo blog day 165, January 25, 2011

Tom “Would you  go to Paris if you couldn’t bring your camera?”  Me “How can you even ask a question like that?”  Tom “Well, which would you choose?” Me “That’s impossible”.  Paris has always been on my “someday” list.  Someday I’ll get there.  My favorite movie in highschool was French Kiss with Meg Ryan and Kevin Kline.  When we went to Las Vegas I HAD to get pictures of their “Eiffel Tower”.  I took french from 6th grade through my sophomore year of college.  My husband’s question really made me stop and think.  My initial reaction was that it isn’t worth going to Paris if I  couldn’t take pictures!  But why?  Isn’t the point of vacations to learn and experience a new culture?  Aren’t there literally millions of pictures of Paris taken by others that I could buy either there or upon my return?  All of those are fantastic, rational, and logical arguments.  Yet I still feel as though I wouldn’t throughly enjoy myself if I didn’t have my camera.  It took me a moment to figure out why. My camera has become an extension of me.  A way to show others what I see, and to tell a story.  So then I asked “Would I be going alone or with you?”  He said “Alone” “Then not a chance” I replied.  “Well, unless it was all expense paid, then I think I could manage:)”

One comment on “Paris”

  1. Jess … Terrific shot.


Leave a Reply

