Got Milk?

By: Jconnphoto

Jan 14 2011

Tags: , , ,

Category: Black & White, Food, Kids

3 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day 154, January 14, 2011

I think someone has switched personalities with my child.  My 4 year old usually exhibits most of the behaviors you might see on a typical episode of Super Nanny.  Right down to the screaming at the top of his lungs “NO!” when you ask him to do something.  I really try not to take his behavior personally and I (mostly) don’t feel his actions are a true reflection of how we are as parents.  I think we are good parents and do everything we can to teach our kids good behavior while keeping our them happy, balanced, and still letting them be kids.  Any of you who have young children are with me when I say this is a FINE line.  Like walking a tight rope with no net.  It is a huge challenge to keep your cool when they test you.  And boy does my son test me.  That’s why I almost can’t believe how good he has been today. He has followed directions, has helped me make lunch and clean up, and has pleasantly played and SHARED with his little sister.  I tried video taping these incidents but he caught me and wouldn’t continue on.

I have been wanting to take a picture like this for a while.  There is something about abundance that amuses me.  I remember seeing those commercials for Kix when I was a kid.  The ones where Mikey gets this GIANT bowl of Kix and the big brother spills the milk on the table and after a bite of cereal exclaims “Mikey likes it!!”.  I thought it would be fun to do a similar photo with my son where I give him an abundance of something, like cookies, and see what he does.  To my disbelieving eyes and ears my son sat patiently on the floor smiling for the camera and.didn’t. take. one. bite.  Not one.  He patiently held the cookie and after about 10 shots he looked at me with the sweetest face and asked if it was ok if he had a cookie now.  Unbelievable.  AND to make things even better he picked up his cup and put it on the counter.  He walked away from the huge pile of cookies and said that we should save the rest for Daddy and sister.  WHAT?!?  Who is this child and what have the done with my son?  Have we turned the corner?  Are we past the fearsome-fours?  I’m not going to hold my breath.  But I’ll take it for now.  Happy Friday!

3 comments on “Got Milk?”

  1. I love this post and I love that picture! You’ve got skills, woman.

  2. Told ya he was a “special” little boy! Sure do miss those big blue eyes. Great shot.


Leave a Reply

