Peacock feather

By: Jconnphoto

Jan 09 2011

Tags: , , ,

Category: Personal, Random

1 Comment

Aperture:f/3.2
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:500
Shutter:1/80 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

 

Photo blog day 149, January 9, 2011

Last night my husband and I went to a holiday party for my company.  As I was getting ready I laid out my clothes on the bed with all the accessories I planned to wear.  Most women do this to make sure everything “goes”.  As I laid out my accessories I thought “oohh, this would make a good detail shot”.  I finished getting ready and off we went.  Today I have been lazing around reading blogs of other photographers.  One of them had a post about shooting details at weddings.  I love details and I love shooting them.  Often though, weddings aren’t as full of details as I’d like so I don’t get very much practice.  As I read the post I thought back to the accessories I wore last night.  The purse was my mother’s.  I have no idea how old it is but it’s my favorite thing of hers that I’ve stolen.  She knows I have it but when she asks about it I pretend to not know what she’s talking about.  It’s a running joke with us (mom, you’re STILL not getting it back:).  The peacock feather was a recent find inspired by a coworker who wears the neatest headbands.  And the earrings are just costume jewelry of no significant value other than I love them.  As I put them together for this image I couldn’t help but smile over the meaning they have to me.  And for the record, I got a ton of compliments on my “details”.

One comment on “Peacock feather”

  1. LOVE this photo!!! The compostion is interesting, the objects are eye-catching, and the colors are yummy. And I, too, now crave your mother’s purse!


Leave a Reply

