Chocolate Cake

By: Jconnphoto

Jan 08 2011

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Food, Personal

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/1.8
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:1000
Shutter:1/100 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

 

Photo blog day 148, January 8, 2011

So, if you’re like me you’re having a really hard time sticking to that resolution to lose weight, or eat healthier, or get in shape, or whatever health related resolution you made.  I especially cannot stay away from chocolate.  My name is Jessica and I am a chocoholic.  Fur rizzle.  So when it comes time to shed a few LB’s and try to focus more on health I look for ways to still indulge while not falling off the wagon.  For years I have been making a diet friendly chocolate cake that even my husband and kids LOVE.  There’s no artificial sugar in it so it doesn’t have any weird after taste.  I can’t even remember who I got this recipe from initially but it works and it is so simple even my 4 year old knows how to make it:

1 box of chocolate cake mix

1 can of pumpkin puree

1/2 – 3/4 cup water

Mix the cake mix and pumpkin puree together adding a little bit of water to thin it out.  You want the mixture to be heavier and thicker than if you were making the cake the regular way.  Use non-stick cooking spray to set up a bundt pan.  I used a silicon bundt pan and it works like a dream.  Pour the mix in and bake at 350 until a toothpick or cake tester comes out clean (usually about 45 minutes).

The cake is extremely dense and rich and I don’t taste the pumpkin at all.

If you’re hardcore you can eat the cake as is and still really enjoy it.  But I need a little frosting on it so I make a quick ganache:

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/4 cup fat free creamer

Put the chips in a heat safe glass bowl.  In a separate bowl (or on the stove) heat the creamer in the microwave until almost boiling (NEVER boil, it will burn the chocolate).  Pour the heated cream over the chips and use a whisk to mix until the chocolate chips are melted and you have a smooth consistency.  Pour the ganache over the cake and allow to cool.

Cut and serve with some fresh raspberries or strawberries.  DE-LISH!!

 

Leave a Reply

