St. Louis, MI

By: Jconnphoto

Jan 06 2011

Tags: , , ,

Category: Architecture, Night, Urban

3 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:33mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

 

Photo blog day 146, January 6, 2011

Brrr… It’s a cold start to the new year.  So cold I feel like I should hibernate!  Ok, I know I’m making up excuses but I have to confess.  I did not take a blog picture today.  We got a late start to our morning and I had an extremely busy day at work.  I just put my daughter to bed and eyeballed my camera.  I had planned to do a photo project tonight but as I approached my camera I SWEAR it snuggled further down in it’s bag.  I guess I’m not the only one with the winter blues!  So instead of wallowing I am going to post another favorite from the archives.  I traveled to St. Louis back in October 2008 and had such a wonderful time there.  It was a beautiful city and I loved shooting there.  I really wanted a night time picture of the arch and I was told that the best vantage point was across the river from the bridge.  I trekked over there and set up just before sunset.  I did not realize in October it still takes quite a bit of time for the sky to darken.  So I waited, and waited.  Then waited some more.   Finally, the sun was low enough to darken the top of the sky and the Arch was lit by ambient light from the city and spotlights from below.  I was so thrilled with this shot I showed everyone at the hotel counter when I got back.

3 comments on “St. Louis, MI”

  1. I have seen many pictures of the famous St. Louis arch, but this is the most beautiful – the orange glow of the setting sun, the light on the arch, the dark buildings, the reflection in the river – you got it all in one glorious photograph.

  2. Hi!
    I just wanted to tell you what a beautiful shot this is of St. Louis. I actually live in STL and it’s nice to hear somebody say such nice things about my city! 😉

    • I really did have a wonderful time there. I was there for 3 days and drove all over the place. It was rich with history and beautiful architecture. I hope I get back some day and during baseball season so I can catch a Cardinals game!


Leave a Reply

