Bookworm

By: Jconnphoto

Dec 30 2010

Tags: ,

Category: Kids, Random

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/1.8
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:1250
Shutter:1/100 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day 139, December 30, 2010

I LOVE that my son begs us to read “just five” stories to him everynight.  Sometimes we barter and agree on more or less depending on the commodity up for grabs.  Some nights just one parent reads, some nights it is both of us.  As I type this my son just came to me and said he wants “family stories and snuggles” tonight which means I better wrap this up quick!   Nighttime routines have always been pretty rigid in our family.  Rigid meaning we aim to have the kids in bed at exactly 8 PM every night.  When my son was 2 we used to sing songs with made-up lyrics, then as he got older we moved on to making up stories which usually involved some sort of recreational vehicle taking a trip and launching off some jump.  My son likes action.  Once he turned 3 he wanted to read.  He would sit with a book and flip the pages looking at the pictures.  He has us read the same stories until he has memorized them, then he moves on to a different set.  My daughter is reaching the age where she will need some extra bed time attention.  I wonder what she will be like, if she’ll go through the same stages.  Watching my kids grow and develop makes my heart feel good.  As my son likes to say, they make my heart happy.

 

Leave a Reply

