Christmas Lights

By: Jconnphoto

Dec 19 2010

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Holiday, Night, Season

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:17mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/80 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

 

Photo blog day 128, December 19, 2010

We took the kids to see Bright Nights last night.  It is a driving tour of elaborate light displays throughout Forest Park.  It is truly spectacular but I think some of the magic was lost when neither of my kids would sit with Santa in Santa Land (the only spot you can park the car and walk around).  Click here for more info.

I chose this photo of the Barney Mansion to post but I have to admit, my husband took this photo for me.  We saw this display coming up and it was on his side of the car.  So I set up the camera and handed it to him with instructions to bring the car to a complete stop, take a deep breath and hold as still as possible to take the night photo without a tripod.  Against my advice he grabbed the camera, slung his elbow over the door and pressed the shutter as we sloooowwwwly rolled past.  I tsk-tsked and humped him stating that he blew it and I was positive the image would be blurry.  He said “Don’t worry it’s fine”.  And you know what?  It was.  Sometimes I have to remind myself not to think so hard or worry so much over a simple picture.

Leave a Reply

