Nativity

By: Jconnphoto

Dec 17 2010

Tags: , , ,

Category: Season

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:17mm
ISO:1250
Shutter:1/500 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

 

Photo blog day 125, December 17, 2010

As I left work on one of the coldest nights we have had yet I looked to my right and saw that the Nativity was set up on the Commons in Court Square.  I paused for a moment watching the clouds of my breath drift away and was struck with a memory of when my family used to go caroling during the Christmas season.  Yes, I said caroling.  A large  group of us (about 15-20), family and friends combined, would meet in a neighborhood somewhere and head out singing all the traditional  Christmas songs.  My friend and I would hang at the back of the pack giggling and making up inappropriate words to the songs and complain about the cold.  But after, when we were all at someones house having hot chocolate and cookies we secretly enjoyed what we had just done.  It is so strange to me how welcomed we were when we would ring a doorbell.  I feel like now if we tried the same thing people would shake their heads at us saying no thanks as they shut the door.  I got a call from my mother a couple days ago saying she and some other people were going out caroling tomorrow night, I laughed and wished them luck and to let me know how it went.  But maybe I’ll change my mind.  Maybe what society needs is more hometown friendliness.  I’ll still hang at the back of the pack giggling, and I’ll probably still make up inappropriate words to the songs but I’ll outwardly show my enjoyment instead of hiding it.

Leave a Reply

