Hot Pretzels

By: Jconnphoto

Dec 04 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Urban

2 Comments

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:47mm
ISO:1000
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day 113, December 4, 2010

Tomorrow I am headed to NYC for a photo walk with a couple of members from my photo club.  I am SO excited I bet I won’t be able to sleep tonight.  I went to NYC two years ago for the Photo-Plus expo.  I didn’t make it this year because there was just too many things going on, and the year prior daughter was only three months old.  Needless to say when a friend sent an e-mail saying he was setting up a trip for tomorrow I replied “I am SO in!”.  I trudged through the nearly 20,000 digital image files I have and found the file from my NYC trip from 2 years ago. I took a look at the shots and realized how far I have really come.  At that point I was still mostly shooting in Program or Aperture Priority trying to figure out how the “trifecta” of ISO, shutter speed, and aperture work together.  I distinctly remember a  friend of mine trying to explain aperture to me and I just kept nodding with a smile on my face secretly thinking I would never get it.  Now I do.  This image is from that trip 2 years ago and I still like it.  I think it depicts the character of NYC very well with all the signs in the background, the hot chestnuts, pretzels and cheesy flowers.  I can actually still smell the air around that cart, slightly burned but delicious!

2 comments on “Hot Pretzels”

  1. Such a neat photo! Don’t you love the bare bulb hanging over the pretzles to keep them warm? Love also that you caught a sign in the background that has Fifth Avenue on it.

  2. My mom & I were just talking about how we miss the city, and street vendors in particular! I love it.


Leave a Reply

