Caboose

By: Jconnphoto

Dec 03 2010

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Creative, Transportation

1 Comment

Aperture:f/5
Focal Length:28mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day 112, December 3, 2010

Another little driving trip around the canals of  pondering the old buildings and thinking of how, although we have more technology, life hasn’t changed all that much.   I stumbled upon this old caboose sitting in front of an old warehouse, surrounded by pieces of history.  Old trucks, pieces of machinery, railroad equipment.  All beautiful in their decrepid state.  I let my imagination drift and  I could practically see the conductor still manuevering this piece of machinery up and down the rails that were used so commonly in the past.  In the echoes of the buildings I could hear mill workers hollering to each other, I could hear the traffic of Canal Street and Main street nearby and I could really picture the bustling industry that Holyoke once supported, now history.

One comment on “Caboose”

  1. One of my favorites…
    Sad that cabooses are no longer on trains. Hopefully some of them will be preserved. I’m glad that you preserved this one with a great photograph.


Leave a Reply

