Icicles

By: Jconnphoto

Nov 27 2010

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Nature

2 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:31mm
ISO:1000
Shutter:1/59 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

 

Photo blog day 106, November 27, 2010

There is nothing like a brisk walk in the woods on a chilly November afternoon to convince you that winter is nearly upon us.  I took my mother down to see the falls at Big Brook across the street today since she had never been there.  I busted out the Rebel XT for my mom to use and with a DSLR in each of our hands we set out to find some interesting photos.  My mother, a point and shoot kind of girl, was excited to use a real camera.  A few tips on settings and where to look (not on the screen mom, through the viewfinder:) and we were good to go.  We stopped at the falls and took some shots there and I got down and dirty getting some shots of the bright green moss that was all over the rocks and seemingly more vibrant than usual without the competition of the usual colors of the forest.  We moved around the area a bit and as we walked I saw some icicles hanging from the edge of a rock.  I got really excited but it was sort of bittersweet.  Icicles mean winter and I usually don’t like winter.  But if you read my post from Frost you would know I’m trying to change my ‘tude.  So I went up close to the icicles but the lighting wasn’t right.  It was too dark to get good detail in the icicles.  I looked around to see if there were any others in better light but no dice.  SO, I stripped down.  C’mon now…. stay with me.  I was wearing a white fleece jacket and I wanted to use that as a reflector of sorts to get a little more light on the icicles.  I had my mom stand in front of them holding the jacket at an angle and I stood to the side.  It worked!  We were both exhilarated and I was proud of myself for thinking on my feet.

2 comments on “Icicles”

  1. Love this shot!

  2. […] the icicles I posted (click here) on November 27, 2010?  They aren’t so little anymore!  I was hanging around the house today looking out the […]


Leave a Reply

