Grandmother

By: Jconnphoto

Nov 25 2010

Tags:

Category: People

6 Comments

Aperture:f/1.8
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:640
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day 104, November 25, 2010

Ahh.. Thanksgiving… A day where everyone is supposed to reflect on the things they are thankful for and enjoy a feast in celebration of new beginnings.  I had my family over today for our feast and everything was wonderful.  We didn’t get a chance to go around saying what we are thankful for but I think most of us thankful for the same things, family/friends, health, and prosperity.  There is something else I am even more thankful for.   My Grandmother.  She is wonderful.  I looked up to her so much as a child and modeled a lot of my behavior after her.  She was the hip Grandmother (she insisted we call her Grandmother, not meme, grandma, gammie, etc).  She was fashionable,elegant and sophisticated.  She loved makeup and shopping.  She was an actress and a singer in her local community.  She is well traveled (having been all over the US, Canada, and Europe).  She worked at the Springfield Armory during WWII.  She was a model for Indian Motorcycle (I wonder if there is a catalog hanging around somewhere with her in it).  Her history is rich and unique and I loved hearing about how she grew up on a farm in VT and moved to Montpelier for school and later to Massachusetts where she met my grandfather.  When I was 11 she and my grandfather bought an RV and took my sister and I on a cross country trip for the entire summer.  When I was 13 she took me on a full day shopping trip to NYC and to see the Radio City Music Hall Christmas show.  She took me on several trips to Quebec.  And countless family camping trips.  My Grandmother taught me how to make Tourtiere (french meat pie) and spoke french with me when I was learning it from 5th grade all the way through highschool.  She helped me through college by paying for my books every semester I was on the Dean’s List which turned out to be every semester (do you know much college textbooks cost!?).  And best of all, she always had candy in her pocketbook.  I definitely inherited my sweet tooth from my Grandmother.  I can’t tell you how many nights I slept over her house, how many mornings I woke up to the smell of coffee, toast and bananas in her kitchen.  I wish I could have some of those days and nights back as they have helped to define who I am as an adult.  Sadly, my Grandmother is plagued with Alzheimers disease which has stolen so many of her memories.  But I have them, locked up tight and I will keep them with me forever.  Thank you Grandmother for being so wonderful.  And I am thankful for one more Thanksgiving with my Grandmother.

6 comments on “Grandmother”

  1. I LOVE this post Jess. I love your grandmother, she is so sweet and funny. And, of course, I love my grandma too. I also love when my grandma kisses you and your grandmother kisses me. : )

  2. This post is so heartfelt. It literally brought tears to my eyes…thank you for really saying what “Grammy’s” mean to us 🙂

  3. ps. what an awesome life she has had!!!

  4. This is my favorite of all your posts. It was so eloquently written – so from the heart. Your grandmother clearly has enriched your life without measure and your words were a beautiful tribute to her. Very touching…

  5. Your a beautiful person. I pray my grandchildren can remember the times and memories I try to afford them. And … how lucky they are to have great grandparents to remember as well. Time with grandparents is very “special” just as time with grandchildren can be so “special” too. I’m absolutely sure your grandmother has all those memories tucked away in her heart.


Leave a Reply

