Chocolate

By: Jconnphoto

Nov 24 2010

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Food, Random

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:640
Shutter:1/80 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day 103, November 24, 2010

Is it just me or are memories a physical thing, tied directly to your senses?  Do you ever smell or touch something and feel a memory so significantly it feels like you could be in that place that your memory is of or as if it just happened five minutes ago?  That happens to me often.  When I smell bleach and bread together I am brought by warp speed back to my days working in a bagel shop during highschool.  When I smell the smoke of a Winston Cigarette I think of my father and can picture him squinting his eyes through the smoke while he fixed something, or using his thumb and ring finger to smooth his mustache down after taking a puff.  Cut grass and the smell of wet earth reminds me of playing soccer.  Sometimes it’s taste too.  When I was 17 I graduated highschool and high-tailed it to Germany where, through a friend of my mother, I had found a position as an au pair.  The family lived in a small town in the Alps called Tranreut.  I have so many memories of living with that family sometimes all it takes is a smell or a taste to bring me right back to that house on Mozartweg.  I could write pages and pages of my experiences there but that’s not what this post is for.  I was looking through the paper a couple days ago and saw an ad for Milka chocolate bars.  I couldn’t believe my eyes!  This was the exact kind of chocolate I loved while I lived in Germany.  I serioulsly ate this chocolate like it was my job.  I have such a sweet tooth and while living in Germany I really let it loose.  I always wondered what the family must have thought of me.  Perhaps as Augustus Goop from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory!  It has been 15 years since I lived in Germany (JEEZ!!!!!  seriously where does the time go?) and I am still in touch with that first family I lived with.  After I took this shot I ate a piece of the chocolate bar and closed my eyes.  As I chewed I could feel the bed I sat on to write my letters back home, I could smell and feel of the wool blanket on the bed and I can hear the sounds of the family moving around in the house as everyone wound down for the night.  What a lovely memory and all it took was a piece of chocolate.

Leave a Reply

