Lines

By: Jconnphoto

Nov 23 2010

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Creative, Uncategorized

2 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:37mm
ISO:1000
Shutter:1/100 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day 102, November 23, 2010

I was driving to work yesterday morning listening to NPR (now don’t go picturing me as the bookish type wearing tweed and horn-rimmed glasses, I just like the programs and it’s how I make sure I know what is going on in the world.  My favorite program is Morning Edition and at 8PM Jazz a la mode).  They did a segment about how humans cannot walk in a straight line while blindfolded.  Many studies have been done with various adjustments to try to force it to happen but no matter what we all wind up going in circles.  I already knew this about myself.  I can’t talk or think in a straight line much less walk straight.  But I was honestly surprised to find out that it’s just impossible for everyone!  I spent a lot of time thinking about that segment and how it applies to so many things.  My life has taken so many different directions yet I always seem to be back at the same place, a little older and hopefully, a little smarter.  I keep trying to walk that straight line but just keep veering.  So now, knowing that everyone else is going in circles too I will try to just let myself go in circles and enjoy the journey.

2 comments on “Lines”

  1. This is a fascinating photo – I love it! Please tell me where you felt safe snough to get down on the street and take this picture. I’d love to do a similar photo, but can’t think of anywhere that has lines that I’d feel safe – too much traffic!

    • I took this on a small side street in between the Mass Mutual Convention Center and a parking garage. I pressed the walk signal to ensure (or hopefully) that I wouldn’t get run over. I crossed to the center and crouched down for the picture. I sure got a lot of looks but who cares, I got a cool picture!


Leave a Reply

