Mills

By: Jconnphoto

Nov 16 2010

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Architecture, Random, Urban

2 Comments

Aperture:f/3.5
Focal Length:18mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/200 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day ninety-five, November 16, 2010

Today was my son’s 4th birthday, hard to believe it but it’s true.  I took him out for a couple errands in preparation for his party on Saturday.  On our route we passed the Indian Orchard Mills (click here) and he was exclaiming over the water and the buildings.  I took a little detour to allow him a few minutes to walk with me along the canals.  I was just at the mills last weekend when they had their annual “open house”.  I’m so happy about what has become of the mills.  I grew up in the Indian Orchard section of Springfield, MA.  The mills were always just a part of the “downtown” section and they never really meant much to me.  I recall that there were some textile manufacturers hanging around in there but it wasn’t until around the late 1990’s that things seemed to pick up there.  I found out that someone bought the mills and renovated them to be workspace for local artists.  Of course, the artists have to lease the space, but what a great opportunity!  To have a large open space to go to and be surrounded by other people stretching their creativity. I would love to have space in there someday, maybe, someday.

2 comments on “Mills”

  1. I love this picture and the story as well. What a great space for artists to have their studios. It’s a wonderful re-purposing of an old building.

  2. My Dad actually used to have a shop at the mills in I.O. and took me to one of the artist gallery shows one year. I loved it, it was so neat. Some really funky, interesting work there.


Leave a Reply

