Door

By: Jconnphoto

Nov 06 2010

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Architecture

3 Comments

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:49mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/200 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day eighty-four, November 5, 2010

I took my kids to the Holyoke Children’s Museum today for Friday storytime and play.  After we left I had a few minutes to drive around a couple of the industrial streets surrounding the museum.  Holyoke, MA (click here for a link) was a city of industry in the 19th and early 20th century.  Now, most of the factory buildings are barren and desperate, barely a whisper exists of the productive entities they once were.  I rarely get to spend any time wandering the area (it’s not always considered a safe place) but the time I do spend there I get thinking and imagining what life must have been like for the immigrants who came from all over to work in Holyoke.  As I drove around I saw this door of Parson’s Hall and while I didn’t know what it was when I snapped the picture, I knew this building was an important part of Holyoke’s history.  Someone has taken the care to restore this building with special emphasis on this entry.  I would probably have to contact someone from the historical society to find out detailed information but from what I could find on the internet the Parson’s Hall (click here) building was built in the 1850’s and served as a meeting hall,  town hall, dance hall, meeting place for struggling religious societies, rallying place for the soldiery of the days of 1861 and finally a paper storage warehouse.

3 comments on “Door”

  1. Man, those immigrants had long legs back then huh? “watch your step!”

  2. Loved the photo, the door itself, and the history.

  3. The red color really pops! “If doors could talk….”


Leave a Reply

