Frost

By: Jconnphoto

Nov 03 2010

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Black & White, Random, Season

2 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:90mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day eighty-two, November 3, 2010

We woke up this morning to some pretty chilly temperatures, 27 degrees!  I have spent the past few days grumbling about how I’m not ready for winter, I hate winter, I hate being cold, why is it winter already?!?!  I saw the Frost on my windshield this morning and the way the sun was hitting it I realized how pretty the formations really were.  I ran back inside and grabbed the closest thing I have to a macro lens (I already had my camera in the car) and took a few shots.  I spent the day thinking about what I would write and I kept drawing a blank.  I can’t remember a time in my life when I actually liked winter.  There were years that I was ambivalent towards it realizing there wasn’t much I could do other than move and when I was 12 I certainly couldn’t convince my parents to move to a warmer climate.  As I considered all of this I realized how bad my attitude towards winter is.  So instead of focusing on why I don’t like winter I decided to come up with 10 reasons not to hate winter.  It was surprisingly easier than I thought!!

1.  Starbucks Peppermint Mocha, YUM!

2.  Flannel Sheets and electric blankets.

3.  Hot chowdah and warm bread.

4.  Icicles.

5.  Sledding.

6.  Hot baths and steamy showers.

7.  Snow days (of course this only applied when I was in school but it’s still pretty cool).

8.  The sun sets much earlier = more awesome night pictures.

9.  Cashmere everything.

And finally…..

10.  Winter makes summer seem THAT much better!!

2 comments on “Frost”

  1. how do you get a black background if this was taken on your windshield with the sun coming in? It looks like it’s under a microscope!

    • My husband’s truck was the “background” for this photo so it was already dark. Then I converted to black and white. The frost was taken with an almost macro lens allowing me to be about 8″ away from the window.


Leave a Reply

