Farmhouse

By: Jconnphoto

Sep 25 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Architecture, Random

2 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:17mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/1600 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day forty three, September 25, 2010

For the last year or so I have driven past this house watching the deconstruction of this Farmhouse.  I later learned that a local woman had purchased the house and was planning to move the house about 5 or 6 miles away.  Over the course of the year various obstacles occured that made me wonder if someone just did not want a piece of history to be saved.  Finally, a resolution was reached and the final process of moving the home started.  I happened to drive by the house the day they separated the main house from the addition.  The company that will move the home was there doing some prep work and kindly allowed me to take a few photos.  This was stuck with me as it reminded me so much of the dollhouses I used to play with growing up.  With the lack of patience I had for the tedious job of gluing pieces in my dollhouse often appeared as much in shambles as this house does.  The house is scheduled to begin its journey at 4 a.m.on 10/2/10.  I hope to be able to take some more images of the process but I may be restricted (hmm.. and why would that be?  Safety maybe??).  I truly hope the woman that bought the home renovates it as she had planned and that the stress of the last year hasn’t entirely stripped her of the passion she started out the process with.

2 comments on “Farmhouse”

  1. Such an interesting photo with great observations and story! I hope that you do get to take pictures when the house is being moved – that would be such a neat follow-up to today’s blog. Maybe you could even photograph the house once it has been moved to its new location…just a thought!

  2. It’s been so long, I forgot all about this house being moved. Thanks for sharing the update and showing a glimpse of what is involved in such an overwhelming project.


Leave a Reply

