Mini-bell Peppers

By: Jconnphoto

Sep 21 2010

Tags: , , ,

Category: Food

2 Comments

Aperture:f/18
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day thirty nine, September 21, 2010

Ok, I know I’ve been posting a lot of food pics (or at least it feels like it) but I consider myself a foodie.  I get really excited about food.  All kinds of food, spicy, sweet, savory, salty, etc.  For the last couple years I have purchased a crop share from Red Fire Farms in Granby, MA.  Their vegetables are all organic and delicious.  In our “share” this week we got these Mini- bell Peppers.  They are miniature versions of regular bell peppers but I guess as the days cool down their growth is stunted resulting in a a sweet bite-size treat.  I  am going to use these peppers in our dinner tonight but as I was looking at them I couldn’t get over how cute they are!  The larger yellow peppers are about 2″ and the smallest orange one is about 3/4″ big.  I know it’s hard to tell from this image, maybe I should have put a ruler next to them.  They remind me of the plastic food that comes with kids play-kitchen sets.  So I set up outside and took a couple shots.

P.S.  I chopped up the peppers to put in my dinner and boy were they sweet.  Except that bright green one in the middle.  I should have know something was off when my fingertips started to tingle after handling it.  No sooner did the piece pass my lips did my mouth literally catch on fire.  And I’m talking FIRE.  I spit it out (didn’t even have a chance to bite it).  Instinct told me to wash out my mouth and not to swallow.  I did so and as tears streamed down my face I tried to remember that episode of Myth Busters where they prove/disprove what things take away the burn.  I took a big gulp of milk and proceeded to wash the fire down my throat.  People, watch out for those little peppers.  The green ones will get you!!  It’s been 2 hours and I still feel a burn on my upper lip.  Phew!!!

2 comments on “Mini-bell Peppers”

  1. A stunning photo!!!! Not only are you an excellent photographer, you have an easy, natural, descriptive way of writing that makes the photo even more enjoyable.

  2. Paige, You just boosted my ego:) Thank you so much.


Leave a Reply

