Trains

By: Jconnphoto

Sep 16 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Night, Transportation, Urban

2 Comments

Aperture:f/14
Focal Length:17mm
ISO:640
Shutter:30 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day thirty three, September 15, 2010

So tonight I had my first run-in with the po-po.  I went to Palmer to meet with a couple who are getting married next August to discuss their upcoming engagement session and our plans for their wedding.  I hadn’t taken a blog picture yet so I asked if they had any suggestions on where I could go to get some train shots.  They gave me some tips and off I went.  I went down a side street and came to an open lot next to the railroad tracks.  A train was parked there with what looked like timber for telephone poles or something similar.  I cruised around the lot in my car looking for a good spot.  It was dark and pretty sketchy there so I knew I wanted to be quick.  I took one shot and got back in the car.  As I started the car I saw headlights in my rearview.  Instinct told me this was a police car.  I put my foot on the brake to put the car in drive and sure enough the blue lights began flashing.  I put the car in park and waited.  I knew I wouldn’t be in trouble as I was in a public lot and there weren’t any no trespassing signs.  Yet I still felt jittery and wary.  Two officers approached slowly and asked what I was up to.  I really didn’t need to say anything because they saw the camera gear in the front seat.  They said it was an interesting spot but to be careful and definitely don’t walk on the tracks.  I was set free and off I went.  Since I knew the police were nearby and I can never turn down a chance for another shot I set up again but I was pretty happy with the first shot so I packed it in an headed home.  Thank you Palmer police for doing a great job watching over the citizens and visitors of Palmer.

2 comments on “Trains”

  1. I have only been “stopped” by the police…4 time…Hand them your business card and smile. Always ask for forgiveness rather then permission you get way better photos. And if you feel like you shouldn’t be there because someone else might be…be loud and that usually scares out the scum..


Leave a Reply

