Water Lily

By: Jconnphoto

Sep 08 2010

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Nature

1 Comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:90mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/400 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day twenty-six, September 8, 2010

Got a chance to get back to Brookgreen Gardens again today.  My husband and I spent 5 hours there wandering the gardens to see the sculptures and flowers.  I kept seeing these beautiful ponds full of lily pads.  I had already told my husband that I would love to find a Water Lily but we weren’t having any lucky.  We came across this pond that had about 5 or 6 blooms in it.  I got as close as I could with my 28-90 set to macro.  Unfortunately we were there at 1 PM, a photographer’s most hated time of day right?  Not for me, I had the foresight to bring my 5-in-1 reflector.  The inner part of this reflector can act as a diffuser and I must say it did a great job.  I leaned over the pond and had my husband hold the diffuser over my head and got a couple shots.  I had to quit because I got bit by fire ants and my feet were on fire.  Oh, the lengths we’ll go to for an image.  What I absolutely love about this image is the reflection of the foreground lily in the water.  I had my camera and lens about 2″ above the water the capture the reflection.

One comment on “Water Lily”

  1. BEAUTIFUL!


Leave a Reply

