Spicebush Swallowtail Butterfly

By: Jconnphoto

Aug 27 2010

Tags: , , ,

Category: Nature

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day fourteen, August 27, 2010

Ok, who hasn’t seen an image of a butterfly before, or this exact butterfly for that matter?  I would love it if every image I post was a complete and total original but that’s just plain impossible.  If I haven’t mentioned it before, the main purpose of this blog is to challenge myself.  To take pictures I would normally have passed over, and to stretch my creative muscles taking images of subjects I usually stay away from.  I have a butterfly bush in my front yard.  My mother in-law planted it there and it blooms beautiful hot pink flowers.  I don’t usually venture over to the bush because it is smack dab in the middle of an allergy hill, I mean a hill of golden rod and ragweed.  Today I looked at the bush and I could see the butterflies flitting about and I said this is it, I have to do it.  I put my 70-200 mm lens (so I could stay as far away as possible) on and made my way to the bush.  I spent about 10 minutes photographing several different butterflies.  This turned out to be far more difficult than I imagined.  The butterflies do not stay in one place very long and they are almost constantly moving their wings. This makes it difficult to focus on their face/eyes which is usually the goal when shooting insects.  I managed this shot and I think it looks pretty neat.  I Googled the type of insect it is and based on Google images it appears to be a Spicebush Swallowtail Butterfly.  Thank you madam butterfly for accommodating me in my ongoing quest to uplift the world with beautiful images.

Leave a Reply

