Dream Theme

By: Jconnphoto

Aug 23 2010

Tags: , , ,

Category: Urban

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/11
Focal Length:17mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day ten, August 23, 2010

With the 2010 Hall of Fame enshrinement in it’s wake, Springfield, MA is still trying to ride the Dream that was the Theme of enshrinement events.  Artists in the area were tasked with painting 6 ft tall high-top basketball sneakers in the theme of “What makes Springfield Great?”.  I’ve waited patiently for a map from the Springfield tourism office but as of tonight it hasn’t been released yet, or not that I know of.  So I set out to find some of them on my own.  I came up with 8 out of 18.  Not bad for walking a 3 block radius around downtown center.  All 8 that I found were well executed and interesting.  A few left me wondering how they related to the above noted challenge, but nonetheless, they are a fun addition to our otherwise drab downtown landscape.  Here is one sneaker on the back corner of the MassMutual Center.  I heard recently that many, or all, of these sneakers will be auctioned off. I have no idea whether they will make their permanent home in Springfield or if the auction-goers will install these bastions of basketball in their backyards.  Either way I am going to try to find the other 10 sneakers before they disappear (or are vandalized which, believe it or not, may be pretty common in Springfield.  Have some respect people!!  Leave the sneakers alone!).

Leave a Reply

