The Thief and the Cobbler

By: Jconnphoto

Aug 20 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Uncategorized

2 Comments


Photo blog day seven, August 20, 2010

When was the last time you wore through the soles of a pair of shoes?  Or broke a heel?  Or even had the scuffs polished out of your Bostonians?  What did you do with the shoes?  In this throw-away society we live in you probably pitched those kicks right in the can.  Me on the other hand, I bring them to a cobbler.  You see, pre-photography I was obsessed with shoes.  My highest count was probably up near a buck fifty.  Then we moved and I grudgingly parted with a few pairs at a time.  I had to.  Styles change, shoes wear out, pregnancy happens and you’re feet grow (huh? nobody warned me about that!).  In any event I am no longer so much obsessed with how many pairs I have as I am with keeping the pairs I do have in good shape. Especially my favorites.  One pair of heels I have had repaired three times already.  At $15 a pop getting a pair of shoes repaired is totally worth it.  Today was errand day.  First stop was to the shoe repair store to drop off three pairs that have gone by the wayside, sitting patiently in a shopping bag for about six months before I finally had a chance to bring them in.  On the way to the store I thought about how many times I have done this.  Some people have asked, why bother?  You can get a new pair of shoes for the same price of the repair at any number of discount stores.  Well for one, I love the shoes that I have, for another I like knowing that I have saved a pair from taking up space in a landfill.  Any finally, there’s Ace.  Ace Agostinho is the owner of Ace Shoe Repair in Springfield, MA and he knows his stuff.  I don’t know how he does it but when I pick up my shoes from him they look brand new, as if I had never worn them before.  I asked Ace if I could take some pictures for my blog and he said “what’s a blog?”.  Walking through the back of Ace’s shop is like stepping back in time 100 years.  In fact, one of the machines he showed me IS 100 years old. It’s easy to see why he is a self-professed “computer illiterate”, in his world there are no computers.   Seeing the skill required to repair and make shoes is mind blowing.  How is it possible that some people don’t want to pay $15 to have a pair of shoes repaired yet we pay $60+ per month just for cable TV which is a steady service to your house and rarely requires a human (or one with any skill for that matter. Have you ever called the customer service department of your cable providers?! Enough said.) to come and do any work at your house.   I feel like The Thief in this story.  Having Ace fix my shoes for only $15 is surely a steal.  The next time you get ready to toss a pair of shoes in the trash call a cobbler, he can help and you’ll save your shoes from a filthy demise.

2 comments on “The Thief and the Cobbler”

  1. “whats a blog?” 🙂 classic ! nice stuff.

  2. Great subject …. almost a lost art. Hope “Ace” has an apprentice.


Leave a Reply

