Quadrangle

By: Jconnphoto

Aug 19 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Architecture

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:17mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day six, August 19, 2010

Working downtown for as many years as I have and having grown up in Springfield I am a frequent visitor of the Quadrangle in Springfield, MA.  Home to the Springfield Science Museum, George Walter Vincent Smith Art Musuem, D’Amour Museum of Fine Arts, Connecticut Valley History Museum, Springfield City Library, and the newly constructed Museum of Springfield History.  As a child the library used to put on “watermelon tales” during the summer.  This was a free event where families could bring their children for a story and some fresh watermelon.  I have more memories of the Quadrangle than I can count and now I bring my own children there.  I often take my lunch up to the Quadrangle and sit on the benches in what I consider an oasis in Springfield.  This image will probably be the first of many taken at the Quadrangle.  This is the ceiling of the loggia at the GWV Art Museum.  The pattern on the ceiling always strikes me.  The building is elegant yet strong at the same time and it’s columns lend themselves to the romance of Italy.  The security of the Quadrangle keeps the loggia closed most days which is fortunate for me as I was able to get this clear shot.  If you have not been to the Quadrangle you should go soon.  The City of Springfield is lucky to have such a wonderful attraction in its midst.

One comment on “Quadrangle”

  1. Bravo Jess, the photo and commentary are great!


Leave a Reply

